Coverart for item
The Resource Now I Rise

Now I Rise

Label
Now I Rise
Title
Now I Rise
Statement of responsibility
Kiersten White
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. A SISTER FILLED WITH RAGE Lada Dracul has no allies. No crown. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares cross her. She storms the countryside with her men, but brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the defiant Ottoman sultan, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her. HER BROTHER CAUGHT IN THE CROSSHAIRS Lada needs the support of her diplomatic younger brother, Radu. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. And for the first time in his life, when Lada asks him for help, he refuses . . . leading his sister to make the darkest of choices. THE ULTIMATE POWER PLAY Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, would Mehmed ever forgive him? As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel—the second in the And I Darken series.★ "Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."—Booklist, starred review★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."—Kirkus, starred review"A+, 5 knives."—Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of the STARBOUND and ILLUMINAE FILES trilogies "Fierce, epic, and crazy fun."—Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of THE HAZEL WOODA Teen Choice Book Award nominee! Praise for And I Darken: "A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters—absolutely riveting." —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger "A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." —BuzzFeed "Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." —NPR
Member of
Summary
A sequel to the best-selling And I Darken finds a vengeful Lada striking out at anyone who stands in her way and finding herself unexpectedly rejected by her skillful brother, Radu, who reluctantly works as a spy for a power-hungry Mehmed
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10554771
Cataloging source
DLC
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
700
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 10
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Conquerors saga (Kiersten White)
Series volume
0002
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Now I Rise
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:55150575-f0cb-4a54-b722-ac33b01f62c0
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780553522372
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Now I Rise
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:55150575-f0cb-4a54-b722-ac33b01f62c0
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780553522372
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Pasadena Public Library - Central LibraryBorrow it
      1201 Jeff Ginn Memorial Drive, Pasadena, TX, 77506, US
      29.6929282 -95.1969043
Processing Feedback ...