Coverart for item
The Resource Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s

Label
Counting by 7s
Title
Counting by 7s
Statement of responsibility
by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Title variation
Counting by sevens
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read."Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I've never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I'll never forget."—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Summary
Twelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident
Storyline
Character
Award
  • Great Lakes Great Books Award (Michigan), Grades 6-8, 2014.
  • Keystone to Reading Book Award (Pennsylvania), Middle School level, 2015.
  • Nutmeg Children's Book Award, Teen category, 2016.
  • School Library Journal Best Books: Fiction, 2013
  • YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2014.
  • ALA Notable Children's Book, 2014
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10217422
Cataloging source
DLC
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
770
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 5
  • 8
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Counting by 7s
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781101591352
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Counting by 7s
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781101591352
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Pasadena Public Library - Central LibraryBorrow it
      1201 Jeff Ginn Memorial Drive, Pasadena, TX, 77506, US
      29.6929282 -95.1969043
Processing Feedback ...